I can’t believe this, YouTube is forcing me to change my Username to My Google (+) Plus Google Account Name.  Really?

Well for all for you that are experiencing this for the first time, they have been doing this for quite some time now.  It is a nightmare, and when it first happened to me I was like OMG????  Then after I had switched it back to the original name, they changed my username again without me even knowing a few weeks later.  So hopefully, this time it sticks :-)  Fortunately I was able to dig around and find a solution on how to switch back to my old username.  So here is how you get your old name back:

Revert to Original Username

  1. Make sure you’re signed into YouTube, and go to YouTube account settings
  2. Click Disconnect Google+, found below your email address.
  3. If you had an old YouTube username: You will then be asked to confirm that you want to revert your YouTube channel to your old username. Click OK and your identity will be reset to your old username. Your old avatar (if you had one) will be restored as well.If you never had a YouTube-specific username: You will then be able to enter a YouTube username. Follow the instructions and then click OK. Your identity and Channel URL will be updated to reflect your new username, and your Google+ photo will no longer appear as your YouTube avatar.

If you change your mind later, you can always switch back to using a Google+ profile identity.

For more information on editing Google/YouTube username click here >>